Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

MIRECC/CoE

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
 

MIRECC/CoE VA Advanced Fellowship in Mental Illness Research and Treatment

MIRECC Logo

VA Advanced Fellowship in Mental Illness Research and Treatment

Overview and Announcements

Fellowship Overview

The VA Office of Academic Affiliations is offering the VA Advanced Fellowship Program in Mental Illness Research and Treatment at 25 VA sites through MIRECC (Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center), SMITREC (Serious Mental Illness Treatment, Research, and Evaluation Center), NCPTSD (National Center for PTSD), and COEs (Centers of Excellence). Specific Sites are listed on the tabs MIRECC contacts and COE contacts. VISN links take you to the homepage of the VISN. Other links in the lists let you jump to director information for that site.

These sites participate in the program. Each year, one MD Fellow from psychiatry, neurology, radiology, internal medicine, or other areas of medicine and one Allied Health Fellow from clinical psychology, counseling psychology, social work, nursing or pharmacy are accepted at each site. The VISN 21 MIRECC serves as the national coordinating center for the program, directed by Ruth O’Hara, Ph.D.

The primary goal of the fellowship program is to train MDs, psychologists and other allied health professionals to become leading clinical researchers in high priority areas of mental health. Over the course of the two-year program, fellows are trained in academic and health systems research, advanced clinical care service delivery, and program administration in an interdisciplinary setting. The fellowship combines individual mentored research and clinical training with state-of-the-art educational experiences.

A special emphasis of the fellowship program is to train fellows to conduct translational research that brings basic science to clinical practice. For example, fellows learn how genetic factors are linked to clinical outcomes and how innovative research methodologies yield more clinically relevant information.

One highly successful aspect of training has been the video conference seminar series. Twice a month a leading expert in the field presents to fellows at all sites through the video conferencing system. The didactic emphasize two main areas. One includes presentations on all aspects of career development from grant and manuscript preparation to the role of mentorship. The second emphasis is on the most recent advances in conducting specific components of clinical research in mental health, from genetics to designing the best interventions.

There is also a strong emphasis on state-of-the-art methodological approaches to mental health research and practice. Seminar topics last year included VA career development, funding and resources, behavioral genetics, health informatics, and designing clinical trials of behavioral therapies. Past seminars have featured presentations on funding mechanisms and career development awards by Theresa Gleason, Ph.D., from VA R&D, Jovier Evans, Ph.D., from the NIMH, and Molly Wagster, M.D., from the NIA.

Twice monthly multi-site video conference workshops on manuscript and grant preparation are also provided to the Fellows in addition to ongoing weekly biostatistical consultation through the coordinating center.

For more information about the fellowship program, contact us by email at: Bevin.DeMuth@va.gov

Return to Top

Fellowship Program Announcement

The Office of Academic Affiliations, Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), announces its two-year, post residency, specialized training program in Advanced Mental Illness Research and Treatment at 25 VA sites through MIRECC, SMITREC, NCPTSD, and COE located across the country. This is an interdisciplinary program that aims to train MDs, psychologists and other allied health professionals to become outstanding clinical researchers in high priority areas of mental health research and practice.

The program combines individualized, mentored research and clinical training with a state-of-the-art curriculum that emphasizes research methods; statistics; epidemiology; mental health systems; quality improvement methods; education and service delivery. Each site is affiliated with a MIRECC, SMITREC, NCPTSD, or COE, and an affiliate academic institution. Fellowship sites are linked electronically for didactic, academic, and research efforts.

Fellows devote 75% time to research and educational activities and 25% to clinical training. In collaboration with their mentors, Fellows will develop and implement a research project, publish and present findings, participate in grant writing, and utilize the latest technology for educational activities and clinical service delivery.

Special Announcement - Applications must be received by November 15, 2013

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS Palo Alto WRIISC Special Fellowship Program (PhD or MD track) with Research Interests in Complementary and Alternative Medicine (VAPA-WRIISC-SFP)

Download the announcement

Return to Top

Requirements and Application

Requirements

MDs
MD applicants must have completed ACGME-accredited training, be board eligible or board certified, and have an active, unrestricted U.S. license to practice. International medical graduates must also have a current visa and an ECFMG certificate that is valid indefinitely. Applicants on a J-1 visa must also have current ECFMG sponsorship.
Stipends will be based on years of previously completed residency training accredited by the Accrediting Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and index rates approved at the respective VA facility and affiliated university.
Allied Health Professionals
Eligible psychologists and allied health professionals must be U.S. citizens. Psychologists must have graduated from an American Psychological Association (APA) accredited doctoral program in clinical or counseling psychology. Completion of an APA accredited internship in clinical or counseling psychology also is required.
Allied health professionals must have graduated from an APA accrediated doctoral program.For the eligibility requirements for other Allied Health disciplines, please contact Bevin.DeMuth@va.gov
Stipend rates are currently $42,239 to $50,006 per annum for the first year of the program with a stipend increase in the second year. These stipends are reviewed biannually and are adjusted according to rates paid by comparable non-VA postdoctoral fellowship programs.
 

Applications

Interested MDs, psychologists, and allied health professionals who meet the eligibility requirements should send a cover letter and curriculum vita to the MIRECC, SMITREC, NCPTSD, or COE Fellowship site/s of their choice.

The VA Office of Academic Affiliations has more information at http://www4.va.gov/oaa/specialfellows/default.asp. Towards the bottom of that page click on: Nomination, Submission, and Application Instructions for VA Advanced Fellowships in Mental Illness Research and Education (Advanced Psychiatry and Psychology).

Return to Top

MIRECC, SMITREC, NPTSD, and COE Contacts


Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
West Haven VA/ Yale University School of Medicine
New England Healthcare System (VISN 1)

Mehmet Sofuoglu, M.D.
Phone: (203) 932-5711 x4809
Email: Mehmet.Sofuoglu@va.gov

Ilan Harpaz-Rotem, Ph.D.
Phone: (203) 937 x4760
Email: Ilan.Harpaz-Rotem@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Bronx VA/ Mount Sinai School of Medicine
NY/NJ Veterans Healthcare Network (VISN 3)

Bruce Levine, M.D.
Phone: (718) 584-9000 x5204
Email: bruce.levine@med.va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Philadelphia VA/University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia VA Medical Center (VISN 4)
VISN 4 MIRECC Fellowship Website

Henry Kranzler, M.D.
Phone: (215) 222-3200 x137
Email: Kranzler_h@mail.trc.upenn.edu

Steven Sayers, Ph.D.
Phone: (215) 222-3200 x135
Email: Steven.Sayers@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Pittsburgh VA/ University of Pittsburgh
VA Pittsburgh Healthcare system (VISN 4)

Robert A. Sweet, M.D.
Phone: (412) 383-5848
Email: sweetra@upmc.edu

Gretchen L. Haas, Ph.D.
Phone: (412) 954-5354
Email: gretchen.haas@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Baltimore VA/ University of Maryland Medical Center
Capitol Health Care Network (VISN 5)

Seth Himelhoch, M.D., MPH
Phone: (410) 637 1863
E-mail: Seth.Himelhoch@va.gov

Melanie Bennett, Ph.D.
Phone: (410) 605-1859
Email: Melanie.Bennett@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Durham VAMC/ Duke University
VA Mid-Atlantic Health Care Network (VISN 6)

Christine Marx, M.D.
Phone: (919) 286-0411 x7426
Email: marx0001@mc.duke.edu

Patrick Calhoun, Ph.D.
Phone: (919) 286-0411 x7970
Email: Patrick.Calhoun2@med.va.go

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Richmond VA/Virginia Commonwealth University
VA Mid-Atlantic Health Care Network (VISN 6)

Robert Schneider, M.D., FACP
Phone: (804) 675-5000 x5116
Email:Robert.Schneider3@va.gov

Scott McDonald, Ph.D.
Phone: (804) 675-5000 x3633
Email: Scott.McDonald@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Salisbury VA/ Wake Forest School of Medicine
VA Mid-Atlantic Health Care Network (VISN 6)

Robin A. Hurley, M.D., FANPA
Phone: (704) 638-9000 x3450
Email: Robin.Hurley@va.gov

Ruth Yoash-Gantz, Psy.D., ABPP-CN
Phone: (704) 638-9000 x3019
Email: ruth.yoash-gantz@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Houston VA/ Baylor College of Medicine
South Central VA Health Care Network (VISN 16)
VISN 16 Fellowship Website

Mark Kunik, M.D.
Phone: (713) 794-8639
Email: mkunik@bcm.tmc.edu

Natalie Hundt, Ph.D.
Phone: (713) 791-1414 x10315
Email: Natalie.Hundt@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Little Rock VA/ University of Arkansas Medical School
South Central VA Health Care Network (VISN 16)
Little Rock Fellowship Website

Dinesh Mittal, M.D.
Phone: (501) 257-1238
Email:Dinesh.Mittal@va.gov

Patricia Dubbert, Ph.D.
Phone: (501) 257-1937
Email: Patricia.Dubbert@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Denver VA/ University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
Rocky Mountain Network (VISN 19)
Denver (ECHCS) Psychology Fellowship Website

Hal Wortzel, M.D.
Phone: (303) 399-8020 x5644
Email: hal.wortzel@ucdenver.edu; hal.wortzel@va.gov


Beeta Homaifar, Ph.D.
Phone: (303) 355-5886
Email: Beeta.Homaifar@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Salt Lake City VA/ University of Utah School of Medicine
Rocky Mountain Network (VISN 19)
Salt Lake City Psychology Fellowship Website

Deborah Yurgelun Todd, Ph.D.
Phone: (801) 582-1565 x2707
Email: Deborah.YurgelunTodd@va.gov

Erin McGlade, Ph.D.
Phone: (801) 587-1412
Email: Erin.McGlade@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
VA Puget Sound Health Care System/ University of Washington
Northwest Network (VISN 20)

Elaine Peskind, M.D.
Phone: (206) 277-3965
Email: peskind@u.washington.edu

Tracy Simpson, Ph.D.
Phone: (206) 277-3337
Email: tracy.simpson@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Portland VA/Oregon Health Sciences University
Northwest Network (VISN 20)

James Boehnlein, M.D.
Phone: (503) 220-8262 x56200
Email: james.boehnlein@va.gov

Ruth Ann Tskuda, Ed.D., MPH, R.N.
Phone: (503) 273-5227
Email: Ruth.Tskuda@va.gov

Elizabeth (Betsy) Goy, PhD
Phone: (503) 220-8262 x57470
Email: Elizabeth.Goy@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Palo Alto VA/Stanford University
Sierra Pacific Network (VISN 21)

Michael Ostacher, M.D.
Phone: (650) 493-5000
Email: Ostacher@stanford.edu

Julie Weitlauf, Ph.D.
Phone: (650) 493-5000 x23429
Email: Julie.Weitlauf@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
San Francisco VA/ University of California, San Francisco
Sierra Pacific Network (VISN 21)

Kristine Yaffe, M.D.
Phone: (415) 221-4810 x3985
Email: Kristine.Yaffe@ucsf.edu

Angela E. Waldrop, Ph.D.
Phone: (415) 221-4810 x6308
Email: angela.waldrop@va.gov

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
San Diego Health Care System/ University of California, San Diego
Desert Pacific Health Care Network (VISN 22)

Gregory Light, Ph.D.
Phone: (619) 543-2496
Email: glight@ucsd.edu

Barton Palmer, Ph.D.
Phone (858) 642-3907
Email: bpalmer@ucsd.edu

Return to Top

Mental Illness Research, Education, and Clinical Center (MIRECC)
Greater Los Angeles VA/University of California Los Angeles
Desert Pacific Health Care Network (VISN 22)

Stephen R. Marder, M.D.
Phone: (310) 268-3647
Email: stephen.marder@va.gov

Alexander S. Young, M.D.
Phone: (310) 268-3416
Email: ayoung@mednet.ucla.edu

Robert Kern, Ph.D.
Phone: (310) 478-3711 x49229
Email: rkern@ucla.edu

Michael F. Green, Ph.D.
Phone: (310) 794-1993
Email: mgreen@ucla.edu

Return to Top

National Center for PTSD (NCPTSD)
West Haven VA/ Yale University School of Medicine
New England Healthcare System (VISN1)

Steven M. Southwick, M.D.
Phone: (203) 932-5711 x2461
Email:Steven.Southwick@va.gov

Ilan Harpaz-Rotem, Ph.D.
Phone: (203) 785-1935
Email: Ilan.HarpazRotem@va.gov

Return to Top

National Center for PTSD (NCPTSD)
Palo Alto VA/ Stanford University
Sierra pacific Network (VISN 21)

Steve Lindley, M.D., Ph.D.
Phone: (650) 493-5000 x22393
Email: steven.lindley@va.gov

Marylene Cloitre, Ph.D.
Phone: (650) 493-5000
Email: Marylene.Cloitre@va.gov

Return to Top

Serious Mental Illness Treatment, Research, Evaluation Center (SMITREC)
Ann Arbor VA/ University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Clinical Management Research Health Services Research & Development (VISN11)

Marcia Valenstein, M.D., MS
Phone: (734) 845-3471
Email:Marcia.Valenstein@va.gov or marciav@med.umich.edu

Fredric C. Blow, Ph.D.
Phone: (734) 845-5046
Email: Fred.Blow@va.go

Mark A.IIgen, Ph.D.
Phone: (734) 845-3657
Email: Mark.Ilgen@va.gov

Return to Top

Center of Excellence (COE)
Waco VA/Texas A&M College of Medicine
Central Texas Veterans Health Care System (VISN 17)

Drew Cook, Ph.D.
Phone: (254) 297-5298
Email: Andrew.Cook@va.gov

Return to Top

Center of Excellence (COE)
Canandaigua VA/ University of Rochester
VA Health Care Upstate New York (VISN 2)

Yeates Conwell, M.D.
Phone: (716) 275-4985
Email: yeates_conwell@urmc.rochester.edu

Deborah A. King, Ph.D.
Phone: (585) 393- 7665
Email: Deborah.King@va.gov

Return to Top

Center of Excellence (COE)
Buffalo VA
VA Health Care Upstate New York (VISN 2)

Laura O. Wray, Ph.D.
Phone: (716) 862-8598
Email: laura.wray@va.gov

Return to Top

Center of Excellence for Stress and Mental Health (CESAMH)
San Diego Health Care System/University of California, San Diego
Desert Pacific Health Care Network (VISN 22)

James Lohr, M.D.
Phone: (858) 642-3762
Email: James.Lohr2@va.gov or jlohr@ucsd.edu

Laurie Lindamer, Ph.D.
Phone: (858) 643-3870
Email: Laurie.Lindamer@va.gov or llindamer@ucsd.edu

Return to Top

Coordinating Hub Site for the Fellowship Program:
VA Palo Alto Health Care System/Stanford University
Sierra Pacific Network (VISN 21)

Ruth O'Hara, Ph.D., Director
Email: roh@stanford.edu

Sherry Beaudreau, Ph.D., Associate Director
Email: sherry.beaudreau@va.gov

Bevin DeMuth, MSW, Program Coordinator
Email: bevin.demuth@va.gov

3801 Miranda Avenue, (151Y)
Palo Alto, CA 94304

For general inquires please contact Bevin Demuth at Bevin.DeMuth@va.gov

Return to Top