Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.



Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge

VISN 2 Center of Excellence for Suicide Prevention

CoE Color Logo

Advisory Board



Advisory Board Purpose and Function

Advisory Board ImageThe CoE’s Advisory Board is comprised of representatives knowledgeable about suicide prevention, mental health research, education and dissemination and the public health approach to increasing wellness.  Members come from both within VA (local Medical Centers, other research centers, VISN leadership, and VA’ s scientific community) and outside VA (affiliated academic institutions, Veteran community organizations,  and the national suicide and research communities).

The Advisory Board ensures that affiliates and professional groups have an active voice in setting direction for the CoE.  The Advisory Board meets regularly to assess and advise the CoE leadership on matters of policy development and to review the effectiveness of the CoE in meeting its objectives. As well, the Board assesses and advises leadership on general programmatic directions within each component of the CoE.

Advisory Board Membership

Advisory Board ImageRobert Babcock, PhD, Medical Director, Canandaigua, VAMC

Robert Bossarte, PhD, Director, Epidemiology Program, VACO

Lisa Brenner, PhD, Director, VISN 19 MIRECC

Eric Caine, MD, Chair, Psychiatry, URMC

David Carroll, PhD, National MH Director – Program Integration, VACO

Steve Dobscha, MD, Chief of Staff, COS Mental Health Neurosciences Division

Keita Franklin, PhD, Director, Defense Suicide Prevention Office

Rani Hoff, PhD, Director, NEPEC

Dan Kivlahan, PhD, National Program Director – Addictive Disorders, VACO

Harold Kudler, MD, Chief Consultant for Mental Health Services, VACO

Stephen Maisto, PhD, Director, CIH

John McCarthy, PhD, Director, SMITREC

Bruce Nelson, PhD, Behavioral Health Careline Director, VISN 2

Caitlin Thompson, PhD, Deputy Director for Suicide Prevention, VACO

Wendy Tenhula, PhD, Acting National MH Director – Program Integration, VACO

Return to CoE Home Page