Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.



Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge

VISN 1 MIRECC Staff: Megan M. Kelly, Ph.D.

Return to VISN 1 New England MIRECC Staff page

Megan M. Kelly, Ph.D.

Dr. Megan Kelly is the Bedford Site Director of the VISN 1 New England MIRECC. She is also the Associate Director of the Social and Community Reintegration Research Program (SoCRR). She received her Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology at the University at Albany, State University of New York in 2005. She completed a post-doctoral research fellowship at the Alpert Medical School of Brown University from 2005-2007. Dr. Kelly is currently the Co-Director of the Tobacco Cessation Program at the Edith Nourse Rogers Memorial Veterans Hospital in Bedford, Massachusetts. She is the VISN 1 Tobacco Cessation Lead and is a member of the VA Smoking Cessation Clinical Experts Panel. She is also an Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Massachusetts Medical School and an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior at the Alpert Medical School of Brown University. Her current research involves VA- and NIH-funded studies of novel psychosocial tobacco cessation interventions for Veterans with mental health disorders. Dr. Kelly is currently completing a study that compares an acceptance and mindfulness-based tobacco cessation intervention (Acceptance and Commitment Therapy for Veterans with PTSD and Tobacco Addiction) compared to a standard tobacco cessation intervention for Veterans with PTSD. Dr. Kelly has also been involved in research and implementation of organizational change interventions for addressing tobacco use in mental health settings.


Mehmet Sofuoglu, M.D., Ph.D.

Patricia Sweeney, Psy.D., CPRP
Director for Education

Richard Carson, LCSW
Administrative Officer
203-932-5711 Ext. 4338

Ilan Harpaz-Rotem, Ph.D.
Co-Director for MIRECC Fellowship Program
203-932-5711 Ext. 2599

Suzanne Decker, Ph.D.
Co-Director for MIRECC Fellowship Program
203-932-5711 Ext. 7425