Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

MIRECC / CoE

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge
Pause Play
Coaching into Care

Coaching into Care

Does your spouse or family member need help for alcohol or substance abuse? A Veteran of the wars in Iraq or Afghanistan? Do you have trouble convincing them to get help? Give us a call: 888-823-7458. Hours: Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 8 p.m. EST

Learn more »

TBI Toolkit

The TBI Toolkit

This toolkit provides necessary information to address the needs of individuals with a history of TBI and co-occurring mental health conditions. The toolkit specifically emphasizes TBI in justice-involved and Military/Veteran populations.

Learn more »

Every Month is Suicide Prevention Month

Suicide Prevention Always

Preventing suicide starts with this simple act of support: Be There. Click to learn how you can #BeThere this month to help someone feel less alone

Learn more »

 

Mission Statement

To generate new knowledge about the causes and treatments of mental disorders, apply new findings to model clinical programs, and widely disseminate new findings through education to improve the quality of veterans’ lives and their daily functioning in their recovering from mental illness.

MIRECC/CoE Education Group »

MIRECC/CoE Blog Posts

Check out the latest VAntage Point blogs featuring some of the latest MIRECC and CoE resources and research findings.

CogSMART program improves Veterans’ cognitive functions
CogSMART — a program developed in part by VA researchers — is helping Veterans improve their cognitive functioning through learning new strategies to work around cognitive difficulties.

Mindfulness, values-based goal setting can improve lives of Veterans with PTSD and alcohol use disorder
Acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) teaches Veterans how to recognize and respond to internal experiences — such as unwanted thoughts, feelings and physical sensations — in a constructive way.

VA releases new findings on the connection between TBI and dementia
VA and the Kristine Yaffe Lab at the University of California, San Francisco, have taken a new approach to understanding the association of mild traumatic brain injury (TBI) — with and without loss of consciousness (LOC) — with dementia among Veterans.

MIRECCs and COEs

VISN 1 New England MIRECC
Mission is to improve care for veterans with co-occurring substance use disorders and mental illnesses, as well as related issues (e.g., homelessness, criminal justice histories, and medical co-morbidities).
Director: Mehmet Sofuoglu, MD, PhD (Mehmet.Sofuoglu@va.gov)

VISN 2 Center for Integrated Healthcare
Mission is to improve the quality of veterans' health care by supporting the national integration of mental and behavioral health services into patient aligned care teams.
Director: Laura Wray, PhD (Laura.Wray@va.gov)

VISN 2 Center of Excellence - Suicide Prevention
Mission is to prevent morbidity and mortality from suicidal behaviors among all Veterans by using a public health approach.
Director: Wilfred R. Pigeon, PhD (Wilfred.Pigeon2@va.gov)

VISN 2 New York MIRECC
Mission is to maximize recovery using translational research methods for Veterans with Serious Mental Illness or suicidal ideation and behavior.
Director: Renee Kahn, MD (Rene.Kahn@mssm.edu)

VISN 4 Philadelphia MIRECC
Mission of Precision Mental Health Care encompasses a focus on genetics, pharmacogenetics, and other moderators of treatment process and outcomes, as well as work in Measurement-Based Care (MBC). 
Director: David Oslin, MD (Dave.Oslin@va.gov)

VISN 5 Capitol MIRECC
Mission is to maximize the recovery and community functioning of Veterans with serious mental illnesses
Director: Richard Goldberg, PhD (Richard.Goldberg@va.gov)

VISN 6 Mid-Atlantic MIRECC
Mission is to implement a translational medicine center for assessment and treatment of post deployment mental illness with a special focus on TBI, biomarkers, and the needs of women veterans and families.
Director: John A. Fairbank, PhD (John.Fairbank2@va.gov)

VISN 16 South Central MIRECC
Mission is to promote equity in engagement, access, and quality of mental health care for Veterans facing barriers to care, especially rural Veterans.
Director: Mark Kunik, MD, MPH (Mkunik@bcm.edu)

VISN 17 Center of Excellence - Returning War Veterans
Mission is to promote research on post-deployment adjustment and development of treatments for veterans with post-war problems in functioning.
Acting Director: Steven Nelson, PhD (Steven.Nelson1@va.gov)

VISN 19 Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Mission is to reduce suicidal ideation and behaviors among veterans by identifying cognitive and neurobiological underpinnings of self-directed violence.
Director: Lisa Brenner, PhD (Lisa.Brenner@va.gov)

VISN 20 Northwest MIRECC
Mission is to better treat the unseen wounds of war (PTSD, mild traumatic brain injury, and their comorbidities).
Director: Murray Raskind, MD (Murray.Raskind@va.gov)

VISN 21 Sierra Pacific MIRECC
Mission is to improve the clinical care of veterans with dementia and PTSD.
Jerome Yesavage, MD (Jerome.Yesavage@va.gov)

VISN 22 Desert Pacific MIRECC
Mission is to improve the long-term functional outcome of veterans with psychotic mental disorders.
Director: Stephen R. Marder, MD (Stephen.Marder@va.gov)

VISN 22 Center of Excellence - Stress and Mental Health
Mission is to optimize the well-being and functioning of Veterans by integrating neurobiological and psychosocial science to develop, evaluate, and disseminate treatment for trauma-related conditions.
Acting Director: Ariel J. Lang, PhD, MPH (Ariel.Lang@va.gov)

CESATE – Philadelphia
Mission is to enhance outcomes for veterans with substance use disorders by increasing use of evidence-based interventions, improving skills of providers, and identifying promising new interventions.
Director: James R. McKay, PhD (James.Mckay@va.gov)

CESATE – Seattle
Mission is to improve the quality, clinical outcomes, and cost-effectiveness of health care for Veterans with substance use disorders.
Director: Andrew Saxon, MD (Andrew.Saxon@va.gov)

National Center for PTSD
Mission is to advance the clinical care and social welfare of Veterans through research, education, and training related to the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of PTSD and stress-related disorders.
Director: Paula P. Schnurr, PhD (Paula.Schnurr@dartmouth.edu)