Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

MIRECC/CoE

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge
 

Personnel | South Central MIRECC

SCMIRECC Logo

The South Central MIRECC was funded in 1998 and encompasses all or parts of four states: Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas. The Center has anchor sites at three medical centers in Houston, Little Rock, and New Orleans. It is closely aligned with the VISN 16 Mental Health Product Line, which oversees the delivery of mental health care and the facility Mental Health Directors.

 

Directors

Site Leaders

Personnel

Directors

 

Dr. Mark KunikDirector

Mark E. Kunik, MD, MPH
(713) 791-1414 Ext. 10330
MKunik@bcm.edu
or Kunik.MarkE@va.gov

 

Dr. Michael KauthCo-Director

Michael Kauth, PhD
(713) 440-4460
Michael.Kauth@va.gov

 

Dr. Ali Abbas Asghar-AliAssociate Director for Education

Ali Abbas Asghar-Ali, MD
(713) 791-1414 Ext. 26771
Ali.Asghar-Ali@va.gov
or asgharal@bcm.edu

 

Dr. Jeff PyneAssociate Director for Research

Jeffrey Pyne, MD
(501) 257-1083
Jeffrey.Pyne@va.gov

 

Dr. Ellen FischerAssistant Director for Research

Ellen P. Fischer, PhD
(501) 257-1711
FischerEllenP@uams.edu

 

Dr. Michael CucciareAssociate Director for Research Training

Michael A. Cucciare, PhD
(501) 526-8179
Michael.Cucciare@va.gov
or MACucciare@uams.edu

 

Dr. Tracey SmithAssociate Director for Improving Clinical Care

Tracey L. Smith, PhD
(713) 791-1414 Ext. 10287
Tracey.Smith2@va.gov

 

Site Leaders

Dr. Melinda StanleyHouston, Texas

Melinda Stanley, PhD
(713) 794-8841
MStanley@bcm.edu

 

Dr. Jeff PyneLittle Rock, Arkansas

Jeffrey Pyne, MD
(501) 257-1083
Jeffrey.Pyne@va.gov

 

Dr. Laurel FranklinNew Orleans, Louisiana

C. Laurel Franklin, PhD
(501) 571-8294
Laurel.Franklin@va.gov

 

Personnel

SC MIRECC Administrative Officer

Kristin Ward
(501) 257-1236
Kristin.Ward2@va.gov

 

Houston Anchor Site Administrative Officer

Kendall R. Moore
(713) 791-1414 Ext. 10304
Kendall.Moore2@va.gov

 

SC MIRECC Budget Officer

Dale Perkins
(501) 257-1741
Wendell.Perkins@va.gov

 

 

Last updated: July 22, 2017

South Central MIRECC Menu

Stay Connected!

Sign up here to get the latest news and updates sent directly to your inbox.

 

Contact

Ashley McDaniel
Webmaster
Little Rock, Arkansas
501-257-1223
Ashley.McDaniel@va.gov