Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.



Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge

Leadership & Staff | South Central MIRECC

Directors of South Central MIRECC at leadership meeting

The South Central MIRECC was funded in 1998 and encompasses all or parts of four states: Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas. The Center has anchor sites at three medical centers in Houston, Little Rock, and New Orleans. It is closely aligned with the VISN 16 Mental Health Product Line, which oversees the delivery of mental health care and the facility Mental Health Directors.



Site Leaders


Dr. Mark Kunik

Mark E. Kunik, MD, MPH
(713) 791-1414 Ext. 10330


Dr. Michael Kauth

Michael Kauth, PhD
(713) 440-4460


Dr. Ali Abbas Asghar-Ali

Associate Director for Education
Ali Abbas Asghar-Ali, MD
(713) 791-1414 Ext. 26771 |


Dr. Jeff Pyne

Associate Director for Research
Jeffrey Pyne, MD


Dr. Ellen Fischer

Assistant Director for Research
Ellen P. Fischer, PhD
(501) 257-1711


Dr. Michael Cucciare

Associate Director for Research Training
Michael A. Cucciare, PhD
(501) 526-8179 |


Dr. Tracey Smith

Associate Director for Improving Clinical Care
Tracey L. Smith, PhD
(713) 791-1414 Ext. 10287


Dr. Lilian Dindo

Houston Site Leader
Lilian Dindo, PhD
(713) 794-8639 |


Dr. Jeff Pyne

Little Rock Site Leader
Jeffrey Pyne, MD
(501) 257-1083


Dr. Laurel Franklin

New Orleans
C. Laurel Franklin, PhD
(504) 571-8294


VISN 16 SC MIRECC Administrative Officer
Kristin Ward
(501) 257-1236


Houston Anchor Site Administrative Officer
Kendall R. Moore
(713) 791-1414 Ext. 10304


SC MIRECC Budget Officer
Dale Perkins
(501) 257-1741



Last updated: July 31, 2019