Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

MIRECC / CoE

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
EBenefits Badge
 

National CBOC Mental Health Grand Rounds | South Central MIRECC

Woman viewing a webinar on her computer

 

About

Overview

The National Community-Based Outpatient Clinic (CBOC) Mental Health (MH) Grand Rounds provides training on the latest mental health evidence-based practices, research findings, and emerging issues.

Target Audience: Mental health providers in VA CBOCs (however all VA providers can attend)

CEU: 1 hour of free CEU per month (ACCME, ANCC, APA, ASWB, NBCC, NYSED SW)

September 2018 CBOC Mental Health Grand Rounds Webinar

The Complex Truth of Weapons in Veteran Families: The Ethical Issues Associated with Safety Bias when Talking with Veterans and their Families About Guns

Kevin S. Beasley LCSW

Wednesday, September 12, 2018, 8-9 am CT
Thursday, September 13, 2018, 11am-12 pm CT

Register

This webinar is presented twice for your convenience. Select "Register Now" and then select the event you are going to attend. Do not select "Assign to Me." Register for one webinar only.

Wednesday, September 12 (6:00 am PT / 7:00 am MT / 8:00 am CT / 9:00 am ET)

Thursday, September 13 (9:00 am PT / 10:00 am MT / 11:00 am CT / 12:00 pm ET)

Register Now 

About the Topic

The presenter will discuss an approach with the primary focus on applying ethical principles related to cultural competency to address the unique sub-culture of gun ownership; how understanding the Veteran’s and family’s relationship with weapons and guns can increase vs. decrease safety in the home; and how better understanding of the laws and regulations around weapons can increase provider’s ability to influence safety with Veterans and families. The goal is for providers to feel more confident combining cultural competency tools with motivational interviewing concepts to facilitate “global safety” discussions with Veterans and their families.

Joining on the Day of the Lecture

1. If you have trouble joining through TMS, visit http://va-eerc-ees.adobeconnect.com/r2d57915eod/.
2. Computer speakers or 1.800.767.1750 x37009
3. You have 30 days after the training to complete the posttest and program evaluation to access your accredited certificate. After 30 days, the program evaluation expires in TMS.

Download Accredited Certificate

1. From the Home screen in TMS, click on “My History.”
2. Hover your mouse over the program title and click “View Details” in the popup window that appears. DO NOT click on “Print Certificate” – this creates a generic TMS certificate.
3. In the Completed Work Details screen, find the section named “Accreditation Details.”
4. Click the “Print Accredited Certificate” button next to your preferred accreditation.

Information for Presenters

Invited presenters can read our guidelines to learn more about the program requirements and our checklist for rural and CBOC provider needs to learn more about our audience.

Subscribe to SC MIRECC News and Announcements

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive SC MIRECC CBOC MH Rounds alerts and other SC MIRECC announcements in your inbox.

Upcoming Presentations

October 12 & 13, 2018 - Treating PTSD in Rural Settings

November 14 & 15, 2018 - Military Sexual Trauma in Men and Women

December 12 & 13, 2018 - Obsessive Compulsive Disorder

January 9 & 10, 2019 - CBT for Insomnia

February 13 & 14, 2019 - THRIVE Program

March 13 & 14, 2019 - Depression Treatment for Pregnant & Nursing Women 

April 10 & 11, 2019 - To Be Determined (TBD)

Recordings of Recent CBOC Rounds

Email Ashley.McDaniel@va.gov for a link to a recent recording of the CBOC Rounds.

Contact

Email VISN16SCMIRECCEducation@va.gov for more information.

 

Last updated: September 6, 2018