Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

MIRECC / CoE

Menu
Menu
Quick Links
Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
 

Research Core Staff | Rocky Mountain MIRECC

 

Rocky Mountain MIRECC for Veteran Suicide Prevention
RM MIRECC Homepage Navigation Button RM MIRECC Research Navigation Button RM MIRECC Education Navigation Button RM MIRECC Clinical Navigation Button


Our Mission & Vision


The mission of the Rocky Mountain MIRECC is to study suicide with the goal of reducing suicidal ideation and behaviors in the Veteran population. Towards this end, the work of the Rocky Mountain MIRECC is focused on promising clinical interventions, as well as the cognitive and neurobiological underpinnings of suicidal thoughts and behaviors that may lead to innovative prevention strategies.

The vision of the Rocky Mountain MIRECC is to increase information and treatment options available to Veterans, their families and the Veterans Health Administration (VHA) so that care decisions and care provided are aimed at decreasing suicide risk.


Contact Us


If you have questions or comments, please reach out to us via email: RockyMountainMIRECC@va.gov.


Staff



Research Core

Research Director


Nazanin H. Bahraini PhD

Nazanin Bahraini, PhD (she/her)
Clinical Research Psychologist and Acting Director, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Nazanin.Bahraini@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar


Principal Investigators


Rachel Adams, PhD

Rachel Sayko Adams, PhD, MPH (she/her)
Health Services Researcher, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Rachel.Adams6@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED


Sean Barnes

Sean Barnes, PhD (he/him)
Clinical Research Psychologist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-723-6560
Email: Sean.Barnes2@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar


Lauren Borges

Lauren M. Borges, PhD (she/her)
Clinical Research Psychologist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 303-916-0128
Email: Lauren.Borges2@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar


Diana Brostow, PhD, MPH, RDN

Diana Brostow, PhD, MPH, RDN (she/her)
Clinical Research Nutritionist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Diana.Brostow@va.gov


Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar


Bryann DeBeer

Bryann DeBeer, PhD (she/her)
Director of VA Patient Safety Center of Inquiry - Suicide Prevention Collaborative & Clinical Research Psychologist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 254-297-3108
Email: Bryann.Debeer@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar


Claire Hoffmire, PhD

Claire A. Hoffmire, PhD (she/her)
Epidemiologist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Claire.Hoffmire@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED


Ryan Holliday PhD

Ryan Holliday, PhD (he/him)
Clinical Research Psychologist, Director of Training, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-723-6573
Email: Ryan.Holliday@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar


Adam Kinney

Adam Kinney, PhD, OTR/L (he/him)
Research Health Science Specialist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Adam.Kinney@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar


Julie Kittel-Moseley

Julie Kittel-Moseley, PhD (she/they)
Epidemiologist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Julie.Kittel-Moseley@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar

I am an epidemiologist and health science specialist with over 10 years of experience in suicide prevention research and research with Veterans. My research primarily focuses on identifying non-mental health risk factors for suicide, particularly suicide prevention among those with serious medical conditions, such as cancer, as well as sexual and gender diverse Veterans. Identifying these risk factors can help to inform upstream suicide prevention efforts.


Meredith Mealer PhD

Meredith Mealer, PhD
Investigator/Regulatory Liaison, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-723-4864
Email: Meredith.Mealer@ucdenver.edu


Lindsey Monteith

Lindsey L. Monteith, PhD (she/her)
Clinical Research Psychologist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Lindsey.Monteith@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar

My research focuses on understanding how to prevent Veteran suicide, especially among women Veterans, trauma survivors, and Veterans who do not use VHA care. I believe it is critical to obtain Veterans’ perspectives and understand their experiences and preferences when developing suicide prevention initiatives. I am honored to co-lead the ASPIRE lab and look forward to learning from the Veterans we survey and interview to understand how we can prevent suicide among Veterans who have less commonly been included in previous suicide prevention research.


Teo Postolache

Teodor T. Postolache, MD
Visiting Clinical Research Psychiatrist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC, Baltimore MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs
Baltimore, MD

Email: TPostola@psych.umaryland.edu


Daniel Reis, PhD (he/him)
Clinical Research Psychologist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-857-5770
Email: Daniel.Reis2@va.gov

Publications:PUBMED


Joseph A Simonetti

Joseph Simonetti, MD, MPH (he/him)
Clinician Investigator, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Joseph.Simonetti@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar


Postdoctoral Fellows


Ashley Griffith, PhD

Ashley Griffith, PhD (she/her)
Postdoctoral Fellow, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Ashley.Griffith2@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar

I am an Advanced Psychology Postdoctoral Fellow, and my research interests have centered around understanding barriers and facilitators to accessing mental health care among service members and Veterans for almost 10 years. In the ASPIRE Lab, I am exploring barriers and facilitators to engaging in suicide prevention strategies among LGBTQ+ Veterans, with an emphasis on transgender and gender diverse Veterans. I also bring an interest in understanding how rurality, region, and safety behaviors influence firearm ownership and suicide risk and prevention. As a researcher and spouse of a service member, I am committed to understanding how we can adapt suicide prevention programming to meet the needs of LGBTQ+ Veterans.


Research Clinicians, Staff and Other Investigators


Tabitha Alverio, MA (she/her)
Professional Research Assistant, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone:720-298-5022
Email: Tabitha.Alverio@va.gov


Meghan Barnhart

Meghan Barnhart, MS
Health Science Specialist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-648-1722
Email: Meghan.Barnhart@va.gov


Evelyn Casiano

Eve Casiano (she/her)
Research Assistant, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-723-3522
Email: Evelyn.Casiano@va.gov


Hope Gill, BA
Research Assistant, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-857-5626
Email: Hope.Gill@va.gov


Christe'An Iglesias

Christe'An Iglesias, MA (she/her)
Health Science Specialist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-723-6556
Email: Christean.Iglesias@va.gov


Jacob Johnson, BA (he/him)
Program Specialist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-229-4746
Email: Jacob.Johnson4@va.gov


Joseph Mignogna, PhD
Clinical Research Psychologist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 405-269-6866
Email: Joseph.Mignogna@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar


Theresa Morano, MS (she/her)
Health Science Specialist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Theresa.Morano@va.gov

I have been working for the VA for eight years in various research capacities. Having the privilege of working within several different research locations, my personal aim is to listen, learn, and validate the experiences of each and every Veteran with whom I have contact. I am honored to be working at the Rocky Mountain MIRECC within the ASPIRE lab, which focuses on suicide prevention among underrepresented or underserved Veterans.


Morgan Nance, MA (she/her)
Senior Professional Research Assistant, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-723-4868
Email: Morgan.Nance@va.gov


Carly Rohs, MPH (she/her)
Health Science Specialist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Carly.Rohs@va.gov
Phone: 720-202-3475

I am a trained qualitative analyst, working within the VA for the last five years. I am continuously humbled and honored to learn from Veterans and to use that information to influence suicide prevention interventions. I am interested in informing the gaps in care and research from the lived history and experiences of all Veterans who participate in our studies. I am honored to be part of the Rocky Mountain MIRECC, specifically the ASPIRE Lab.


Emerald Saldyt, BS (she/her)
Professional Research Assistant, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Emerald.Saldyt@va.gov
Phone: 720-723-6554


Joanna R. Sells, Ph.D.

Joanna R. Sells, PhD
Project Director and Clinical Research Psychologist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Joanna.Sells@va.gov


Shalomi Shelton, MS
Research Assistant, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Shalomi.Shelton@va.gov


Christopher Stamper, PhD (he/him)
Health Science Specialist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone:720-723-6552
Email: Christopher.Stamper@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED | Google Scholar


Jane Stanton, LCSW (she/her)
Clinical Social Worker, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Email: Jane.Stanton@va.gov


Kelly Stearns-Yoder, MS

Kelly A. Stearns-Yoder, MS (she/her)
Laboratory & Research Program Director, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-415-1717
Email: Kelly.Stearns@va.gov

Publications: PUBMED


Suzanne Thomas

Suzanne Thomas, MA (she/her)
Health Science Specialist, Rocky Mountain MIRECC
Department of Veterans Affairs, Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC
Aurora, CO

Phone: 720-723-6555
Email: Suzanne.Thomas4@va.gov

I am a health science specialist who has worked with Veterans in research studies within the MIRECC for the past 7 years. I am grateful for the opportunity to listen to, learn from, and support Veterans in this research. In doing this, the intent is to enhance Veteran mental health and safety, and ultimately end Veteran suicide. I believe that this research will help to implement better care and support for all Veterans, and I am thrilled to be a part of it.


Return to Top


Last Updated 25 June 2024